Our lectures are held at Duke Street Church, Duke Street, Richmond TW9 1DH.

We meet on the first Tuesday of every month except January for drinks at 7pm and a one-hour lecture 8pm.

Guests and new members are especially welcome to join us there.

The May and November lectures are are our regular “Bring Friends Free” lectures. Bring as many friends as you like! Everybody is welcome to come along for free in May and November.

Other lectures
Members: Free
Guests: £5 per person payable at the door.
NADFAS members: £4 payable at the door.
Students: Free, upon production of your student card.

If you would like to, you are most welcome to come along for a taster lecture. The fee you pay is refunded if you join as a member.

Tuesday 3 July 2018
AGM at 7.30pm
Lecture at 8pm
18th Century Georgian Furniture
Speaker: Janusz Karczewski-Slowikowski
This lecture traces the development of elegance through style in relation to the design and construction of furniture during the 18th century.
Following the July lecture, the committee invites you to stay for drinks and nibbles.

Tuesday 7 August 2018
From the Workshop to the Studio: Images of the Artist at Work
Speaker: Aliki Braine
From pictures of St Luke painting the Virgin to images of artists at work in their studios and self-portraits, this lecture investigates the shifting environment in which artists have depicted themselves.

Tuesday 4 September 2018
The Ups and Downs in the Lives of the Impressionists
Speaker: Carole Petipher
The lives and early works of Monet, Renoir, Pisarro, Sisley and Morisot will be explored in this lively and entertaining lecture.

Tuesday 2 October 2018
Basingstoke and its Contribution to World Culture!
Speaker: Rupert Willloughby
Rupert reveals the nobler Basingstoke that is buried beneath the concrete and its historic gems.

Tuesday 6 November 2018
Frank Brangwyn and his World War I Posters
Speaker: Libby Horner
Brangwyn was a war correspondent in all but name. This lecture his varied career and inspirations
This is a bring-a-friend-free lecture. Bring as many friends as you’d like!

Tuesday 4 December 2018
Is Christmas in Bad Taste?
Speaker: David Phillips
We discover some wonderful and some gloriously awful Christmas imagery, from Giotto’s painting of the first Christmas crib to the modern day.
Following the December lecture, the committee invites you to stay for drinks and mince pies.

Tuesday 5 February 2019
Postcards from Near and Far: Picturing the 20th Century
Speaker: Chloe Sayer
This lecture celebrates the long history and vast scope of picture postcards – bearers of news and repositories of memories.

Tuesday 5 March 2019
Charles Barry’s Great Work: Restoring the Houses of Parliament
Speaker: Caroline Shenton
The story of how Charles Barry created the most famous building in Great Britain.

Tuesday 2 April 2019
The Lure of Ivory
Speaker: Maggie Campbell Pederson
The talk will look at lure of ivory through the ages, its many and varied uses, and how to recognise ivories from different species, for example elephant, walrus and whale — and their fakes.

Tuesday 7 May 2019
David Hockney and his Struggles with Modernism
Speaker: Ray Warburton
This lecture will focus on how Hockney came to do some of his most famous paintings including his double portraits and swimming pool pictures.
This is a bring-a-friend-free lecture. Bring as many friends as you’d like!

Tuesday 4 June 2019
The Art of the Classic French Paperweight
Speaker: Simon Cottle
Together with fine paperweight examples, the methods of manufacture will be clearly demonstrated, set against the turbulent nature of society in mid 19th century France.

Tuesday 2 July 2019
AGM at 7.30pm
Lecture at 8pm
A Load of Old Balls
Speaker: Simon Inglis
Cricket balls were made of cork, worsted, hemp, brown oats, suet, lard, alum, stale ale and dragon’s blood. Can this really be true or is it just a load of old balls?
Following the July lecture, the committee invites you to stay for drinks and nibbles.

Tuesday 6 August 2019
Fortitude and Fancy – Catherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn
Speaker: Nicholas Henderson
The story of Henry VIII’s two most important queens, Catherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn, and the social, religious and political consequences of their struggles for ascendancy.

Tuesday 3 September 2019
Art in Advertising
Speaker: Tony Rawlins

Tuesday 1 October 2019
A Kelmscott Chaucer
Speaker: Dominic Riley

Tuesday 5 November 2019
How to Steal a Million
Speaker: Shauna Isaac

Tuesday 3 December 2019
Optical Entertainment Before the Movies
Speaker: Andrew Gill

Tuesday 4 February 2020
The Magic of Prague
Speaker: Gavin Plumley

Tuesday 3 March 2020
Great Fire of Westminster 1834
Speaker: Christopher Rogers

Tuesday 7 April 2020
So they do all cook – Ravilious, Bawden and the Artists of Great Bardfield
Speaker: Jo Walton

Tuesday 5 May 2020
Harlots, Rakes and Crashing China
Speaker: Lars Tharp

Tuesday 2 June 2020
Last Supper in Pompeii (to be confirmed)
Speaker: Paul Roberts

Tuesday 7 July 2020
Threads of History: The World of the Bayeux Tapestry
Speaker: Rupert Willoughby

Tuesday 4 August 2020
Scottish Painter Charles Mackie: His Life and Influences
Speaker: Pat Clark

Tuesday 8 September 2020
To be arranged

Tuesday 6 October 2020
To be arranged

Tuesday 3 November 2020
To be arranged

Tuesday 1 December 2020
The Magic of Pantomime
Speaker: Ian Gledhill

Click here for last year’s lectures.